Blue Train was formed as a duo back in 1991 with sax player Chris Mason-Battley. With the addition of Matt Gruebner on bass and Jason Orme on drums, we released a self-titled and self-funded CD. Chris was replaced by Steve Sherriff a couple of years later, and augmented by Robbie Karena on guitar. The band went on to record 'No Free Lunch' which won Jazz Album of The Year 1996, and subsequently 'Never You Mind' in 1998.

Matt and Robbie moved to Australia, and the rest of us went on to other projects. Steve and Alan recorded an EP 'Fun In The World' in 2001 which featured a couple of house-based jazz tracks. Blue Train recently re-formed in 2013 to perform at CJC (videos below) and Waiheke Jazz Festival. Future gigs, news and recordings will be posted here.

All Blue Train tracks & albums are available to preview and download below, or at our Bandcamp site:
The same band, but with Cameron McArthur on bass, performing a few of Steve's originals: